Photo Challenge Week 19: Still Life

challenge
annie_leibovitz

(Chelsea T) #1

This week we challenge you to photograph still life.

This genre of photography focuses on inanimate objects, and often times a collection of objects. Unlike with landscape or portraiture, the photographer has more control over the composition when it comes to still life. Below is a colorful example of a still life from Annie’s Pilgrimage — the handmade pastel collection of Georgia O’Keeffe.

photo credit

Take a photo of a still life and share with your classmates below!

(Gabriele Quaroni) #2

Coffee time

(Gabriele Quaroni) #3

(Gabriele Quaroni) #4

(Damien Hoffman) #5

On the road with sisters:

(Damien Hoffman) #6

Would a version with color be better? This is a main question I have: when to go with BW or color? All tips are welcome! I’m a novice.

(Paula Reiber) #7

Hardly ever “still” - I was fortunate enough to have the camera in had when Cinder struck this pose.

(Michael Bertakis) #8

(Nikki Wolf) #9

This is a pic of my yarn bin. I wanted to include my grandparents in it… my grandmother was always so crafty, whether it be art, sewing, cooking, whatever. My grandfather was a veteran, which inspired me to follow in his footsteps and join the Air Force. Years later, I combined the elements of both of them when I taught myself to crochet so I could make blankets for the VA Hospital, Project Linus (for children in hospitals for traumatic injuries, being abandoned, or with terminal illnesses), and local homeless missions. This still life combines what I got from both of them, tied into one yarn bin.

(They just celebrated 76 years of marriage last November.)

(John German) #10

Dear Nikki_Wolf:

Your grandparents values knitted into your soul. Great concept to put within your still.

God Bless.

Fare-You-Well,

John German

(Nikki Wolf) #11

Thank you, John—I appreciate it when someone “gets” what I was going for!

:smile:

(John German) #12

Dear Nikki_Wolf: